Sunday, October 7, 2007

Adios, Roger Clemens, extraordinary righty pitcher



The great Roger Clemens has finished.

While this blog coulda, shoulda, and woulda waited ordinarily,
the undeniable accomplishments of Roger Clemens do not wait.
It was a sheer pleasure to watch this dude pitch a baseball, mostly against my Red Sox, or my Texas Rangers, or against my St. Louis Cardinals...

But no one can ever deny that this dude was what it is all about. Like watching Tiger Woods nowadays, or watching Cy Young, or Gibby pitching, this was like watching a master, a Rembrandt perform.

I hated it when Clemens recorded his 300th win, as a Yankee against my Cardinals two or three years ago...
But seeing him pitch poorly, tonight, obviously in pain, is a matter of mixed emotions for me. I want the Cleveland team to reach this years' ALCS, against Boston, but seeing this once invincible warrior fading into the sunset was eerie for me.

So, good bye, Roger Clemens, from professional baseball. Thanks for the memories, most of them bad!! But historic memories, nevertheless.

We'll all cheer you in 5 years, upon your admission into Cooperstown, as a champion of God's Favorite Game.
Tonight's final pitching line on Clemens:
2.1 innings pitched, 4 hits, 3 earned runs, 2 walks, 1 strike out, 1 home run.
an ERA of 11.57. for the post season.
His performances on the mound, for 4 major league teams, are what made lots of people ask others, to Take Me Out to the Ballgame!
Thank you, Mr. Clemens! A Texas Longhorn grad, too!

9 comments:

Dave said...

I'm not much of a sports fan but I have always admired Roger Clemens. He will go down in history as one of, in not the, greatest pitchers in baseball.

Redstater said...

The "Rocket" is (was) AWESOME.

But I must take this opportunity to say.... GO ROCKIES!
-red

The Localmalcontent said...

And now, 4 hours later, the Yankees have won that game, 8-4. The possibility exists now that Clemens may pitch again, later against the Indians in this series, or against the Boston Red Sox, their most hated rivals.

Clemens may have a chance to shine like the star he is, again.

Strange little game, baseball!

Thanks for adding your thoughts, Dave!

Redstater said...

Okay mal, let's play.

I was lucky to coach at the Highschool level in Colorado and saw this play happen, so I know it's possible.(perhaps more than one way)
READY?

How can a team get 3 outs on one play without the defense EVER touching the ball?
Hint #1- of course there are runners on base.(duh)

I'll check back.
-red

The Localmalcontent said...

I can only imagine two outs being made on the same play, w/o the ball being touched by the fielders.

With the bases loaded, the batter hits the ball, which hits the runner leading off 1st (1 out), the ball heads off into right field somewhere... while trying to score on the same play, the runner at 2nd, passes the runner who was on third (2 out),

but at this point someone in the field (probably the Royals) has to finally touch the danged ball to get the 3rd out, in my scenerio.
How is the third out made, Red? Or what is your Triple play play?

Yeah, I'm pulling for the Rockies, too, and a matchup with the Red Sox would be something! I like the Sox, for some reason... my favorite AL team.

The Localmalcontent said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
The Localmalcontent said...

Red-- from my scenerio above, here is the third out!!

After everything else, the batter circles the bases, thinking he's scored. Until the manager of the opposing team alerts the umpire that the batter batted out of turn.
Three outs. Did I git it?

Redstater said...

naw...
runners on 1st and second... no outs.
batter hits tall infield fly..(out#1) ball is still in play on infield fly rule...runner on first passes runner on second (out #2) ball comes down and hits remaining runner on second.
(the same could happen if the final runner interfered with the SS or 2nd baseman attempting to catch the fly... or (in HS sports only) if the final runner intentionally removed his helmet while ball is still in play.

It can happen... and has!

GO ROCKIES, Broncos & AVALANCHE!
-red

The Localmalcontent said...

Red, I tend to disagree with your "out #3".

Rule 6.05(l)-- (l) An infielder intentionally drops a fair fly ball or line drive, with first, first and second, first and third, or first, second and third base occupied before two are out. The ball is dead and runner or runners shall return to their original base or bases;

Regardless of everything else in your play, once a declared 'Infield Fly' is called, if the ball is deliberately allowed to fall, ball is dead. Isn't it??